Welcome to my new blog

In my blog I will regularly write about my research and views on issues of international trade, investment and development. I would be pleased if you join the discussion by commenting on recent posts.

I am researcher at the German Development Institute / Deutsches Institut für Entwicklungspolitik (DIE) one of the leading research institutions and think tanks for global development and international development policy worldwide. I work on policy issues related to international investment with a particular focus on developing and emerging countries.

I will start my blog with a trilogy on the fundamental changes in the global trade and investment regime and its consequences.

My first post is based on an opinion piece written together with my colleague Clara Brandi on the potential consequences of the Transatlantic Trade and Investment Partnership (TTIP) between the EU and the US for developing countries and the World Trade Organization.

The US and EU see the TTIP also as a means of pushing emerging countries, in particular China, towards a further liberalization of their trade and investment regimes. In my second post, I will discuss whether China would be ready to adapt to this new trade and investment agenda.

Last but not the least, by some “Mega Regionals” such as the TTIP or the Transpacific Partnership are thought to represent a stepping stone towards a multilateral investment agreement (MIA). In my third post, I will discuss the chances of a successful negotiation of a MIA and, more crucially, whether we really need a MIA to deal with the deficiencies in the global investment regime.

I hope you will find this trilogy interesting and keep on following my blog.

Leave a Reply

